My footage is HD, but video shows as pixelated once exported

Hi ! 

I streamed and saved footage of a game in HD using a Logitech Brio camera, edited the footage, and then exported as an Mp4 with the following settings: 

Width: 1280

Height: 720

Frame rate: 40 

Aspect Ratio: Square pixels

Profile: Main

Level: 4.0 (not sure what this is?)

Encoding: Variable bitrate, 1 pass

Target: 10.00 Mbps

Max Bitrate: 20.00 Mbps

The video came out looking watchable, but with clear pixelation in the background. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_0_FNkR21Y

Please let me know if there is anything I can do in order to up the quality, or whether it's only do-able in Hitfilm Pro. If that's the case I'd love to know what settings I need in order to have crystal clear footage. Thanks a lot! 

Comments

• Also please use simple language (clear instructions), I'm totally new to this. Thank you : ) 

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

Raise Profile to High. 

Raise Level to 5.1

Raise target bitrate to 20.

Raise max bitrate to 30.

This will improve output quality but double the file size. 

• Thank you! And just to save space on the forum, I also wanted to ask an unrelated question: 

How do I adjust the text layers in a composite shot without needing to go back and forth between the composite shot (and its black background) and the frame in my editor on which the text appears?  Like when I have text appear on screen in sequence I need to go back and forth adjusting the timing windows so it lines up, which feels tedious. Is there a work around or is that normal? 

• edited April 2017

Also, I just tried output quality improvement you suggested and there is no distinguishable difference. :/ Really looking to get the crystal clear footage I have in my raw recording somehow. 

After reviewing my original footage, this is actually exactly the same. So you advice was correct. My raw footage is simply not clear enough for some reason.