Indiana Jones style moving map

Hi everyone,
Any thoughts on how to create the old animated Indiana Jones traveling map sequence? I'm sure it's easy and can be done but just need a little guidance on how. Thanks!

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator
    Assuming you have photo editing software, make two graphics. One of the map, one of the "line of travel." Make these graphics very large, like 4096x4096 or larger. Make both graphics the same size so they line up correctly.
    Import to Hitfilm and link both graphics to a point. Now you can move the point to scroll around the map. Animate a mask to reveal the "line of travel" as the map scrolls.
    For the classic Indy look 2D layers are fine. If you want, you can make 3D layers instead, in which case, leave the graphics where they are and animate the camera instead.
  • Hey, that's awesome. Thank you for the response. I apologize that I'm still learning hitfilm, and although I'm getting up to speed, I havent messed with 3d camera work yet. You mentioned linking both graphics to a point. Can you clarify just a bit? Maybe you guys can create a video tutorial. There's a demand for this type of effect, as there are tutorials out there using after effects and imovie.

Thanks again, I've gotten good at chroma key masking and key framing so although this seems simple, I could use a little more help on the specifics. I look forward to gaining the knowledge and experience you guys have to unlock my full potential. Hitfilm is a great program and I'm a big fan.

Have a great day.

edited June 2014
    For connecting layers and other things to points, take a look at Axel's tutorial here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPLhf5nnw-c&feature=youtube_gdata_player
    And Simon's tutorial, here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOFzE-mqz8Q&feature=youtube_gdata_player
    Yeah, neither of these tutorials are going to be specifically about doing the "Indiana Jones Map," but the techniques are perfectly adaptable.