Saving projects


Saving a project file gives you the ability to work on a project over several sessions. All of your project decisions are saved into a HitFilm-specific project file. The next time you load the project file you can continue from exactly where you left it.

Project media is not included in the project file. If you move the project file to a different computer you will need to copy or transfer the media files as well.

You should save your project at regular intervals and after completing important shots, so that you don't have to worry about power loss or other technical problems.

Saving your project does not create a video file that you can play outside of HitFilm. If you want to create a video file of your project you need to Export it.

How to save

save button

The quickest and easiest way to save your project is to click the Save button on the navigation bar. This will update your saved project file. If it is the first time you have saved the project you will need to specify a location for the file.

file menu

The File menu also has a Save option which works in the same way.

The Save As option creates an alternate version of your current project file, resulting in a new project file under a different name. After using Save As, the Save option will use the new filename and location instead of the original.

RECAP With any software you use, save frequently and always keep backups, preferably on multiple storage devices.