Options


The Options window is where you change properties that will affect all of your HitFilm projects. The Options window can be displayed by choosing Options from the File menu.

There are three sections in the Options window which you can move between using the tabs on the left.

It is recommended that only experienced users change properties in the Options window.

General

general options

Maximum levels of undo - how many actions you can undo. Keeping track of more actions requires more memory. See the Undo chapter for more information.
Plane/Image default length - when you add a plane or image to the timeline this is used as the initial duration.
Composite shot default length - when creating a composite shot this is used as the default duration.
Editor default length - when starting a new project, this is used as the default duration for the Editor sequence.
Default render bit depth - higher bit depth will create more accurate rendering but will increase rendering times.
Number of 3D tracking points - limits the number of 3D tracking points used on the timeline when importing 3D camera tracking data. See Importing files for more information. (HitFilm Ultimate only)
Auto sleep/wake assets - when checked, HitFilm unlocks all your media assets when it is not the active window, so that you can edit those files externally before returning to HitFilm.
Save and restore screen layout in project file - when activated, your interface layout is stored in the project file. The layout in a project file will override the workspace layout when loaded.
Save projects with relative file paths - with this turned on your projects can be more easily transferred to different computers or moved to a different location on your computer, as long as the folder structure in relation to the project file remains intact. This can be particularly useful if you use a cloud-based service such as Dropbox to work from multiple machines.
Play timeline audio - enables and disables audio when moving playheads.

Cache

cache options

The cache is used to improve performance while you're using HitFilm. It stores temporary files on your computer and you can alter the cache behaviour using the Options window.

At the top of the Options window you can see how much storage space is being used by HitFilm for the cache.

Days to keep unused cache files - if cache files are no longer being used in a project they will be automatically deleted after a specified number of days.
Media cache database - this is the location on disk of the cache database. You can change its location by clicking the Browse... button.
Media cache folder path - this is the location of the folder containing the cache files. You can change its location by clicking the Browse... button. Changing the cache location can be useful if you are running short of storage space.
Clear media cache - empties the cache. Note that this may adversely affect performance for a while.

Activation

The activation section of the Options window displays details about your software's activation status.

This is where you can find your hardware ID, which you may need if you contact HitFilm technical support.

You can also choose to activate the software from here using your serial code.

RECAP The Options window gives you control over HitFilm's behaviour.