The editor timeline consists of several tracks. At first you will only have two tracks, one for video and one for audio. You can add additional tracks as you work, if necessary.
How tracks work
Tracks are only found on the editor timeline (composite shots use layers, which are covered in the Compositing section).
A track can only contain video or audio content, not both. In this context, 'video' can mean videos, images, planes or composite shots.
All video tracks are displayed in the top area of the timeline, while audio tracks are displayed in the bottom area. The amount of interface dedicated to each can be adjusted by dragging the splitter up or down.
If you have lots of tracks or are working on a small screen some of your tracks might not be visible. There are individual scroll bars at the right of the timeline to move up and down separately through the video and audio tracks.
A single track can hold as many clips as you want. Clips are placed sequentially one after the other, either end-to-end or with gaps in-between.
Some media assets include both an audio and a video track. In this case the media asset is represented as two separate clips on the timeline, one on a video track and one on a audio track.
Linked clips are marked with the chain icon.
Any editing changes you make to one will also be applied to the other. Clips can be linked and unlinked by selecting them and choosing Link or Unlink from the right click menu.
Creating and deleting tracks
You can create a new track by right clicking anywhere in the track listing and choosing Insert track.
A track can be deleted by right clicking a track in the track listing and choosing Delete track. If the track contains any clips you will be warned before the track is removed.
Re-ordering and renaming tracks
Tracks by default are called Video 1, Video 2 or Audio 1, Audio 2 etc. If you want to change these names to be more descriptive you can do so.
Right click the track name and click Rename to choose a new name for the track.
Renaming a track will not affect any of its clips.
You can drag tracks up and down in the list to re-order them. This will move the entire track's contents.
Video and audio tracks can be turned on and off using the mute icons to the left of the track names.
Turning a track off does not lose any of its clips or properties.