Options


The Options window is where you change properties that will affect all of your HitFilm projects. The Options window can be displayed by choosing Options from the File menu.

There are five sections in the Options window which you can move between using the tabs on the left.

It is recommended that only experienced users change properties in the Options window.

You can reset each of the Options tabs using the orange reset buttons.

General

general options

Maximum levels of undo - how many actions you can undo. Keeping track of more actions requires more computer memory. See the Undo chapter for more information.
Plane/Image default duration - when you add a plane or image to the timeline this is used as the initial duration.
Composite shot default duration - when creating a composite shot this is used as the default duration.
Editor default duration - when starting a new project, this is used as the default duration for the Editor sequence.
Default render bit depth - higher bit depth will create more accurate rendering but will increase rendering times. (requires HitFilm 2 Ultimate)
Motion path keyframes - maximum number of motion path keyframes to show in the Viewer at any one time.
Close and reopen media files when deactivating and activating the application - when checked, HitFilm unlocks all your media assets when it is not the active window, so that you can edit those files externally. Returning to HitFilm will then automatically update those files in your project.
Include screen layout when saving projects - when activated, your interface layout is stored in the project file. The layout in a project file will override the workspace layout when loaded.
Save projects with relative file paths - with this turned on your projects can be more easily transferred to different computers or moved to a different location on your computer, as long as the folder structure in relation to the project file remains intact. This can be particularly useful if you use a cloud-based service such as Dropbox to work from multiple machines.
Play audio for frames when scrubbing timeline - enables and disables audio when moving playheads.

By default, HitFilm will notify you in certain situations. You can turn these alerts on and off.

Prompt if the first clip's settings don't match the Editor - displays an option to automatically configure the Editor sequence based on the first media asset added to a track.
Confirm adding a camera - displays a notification when a camera is added to a composite shot.
Confirm removal of the last camera from a 3D composite shot - displays a notification when the last 3D camera is being removed from a composite shot.
Show warning if Quicktime is not installed will display a notification when launching the software if Apple Quicktime is not installed. This will limit the number of formats you can use inside HitFilm.
Show warning for large asset layers used as texture source will display a notification if you try to use large assets as textures for gunfire or particle simulation effects.

Cache

cache options

The cache is used to improve performance while you're using HitFilm. It stores temporary files on your computer and you can alter the cache behaviour using the Options window.

Preview renders

For detail information on the preview render system see the Preview rendering chapter.

The Maximum memory to use option determines how much of your computer's RAM is available to HitFilm for preview rendering.

The default is automatically set to 10% of your computer's available RAM. Increasing the max memory property will enable longer preview renders, but using too much memory could lead to system instability.

Media

HitFilm automatically creates cache files on your hard disk for some media items.

Media cache database - this is the location on disk of the cache database. You can change its location by clicking the Browse... button.
Media cache folder path - this is the location of the folder containing the cache files. You can change its location by clicking the Browse... button. Changing the cache location can be useful if you are running short of storage space.
Days to keep unused cache files - if cache files are no longer being used in a project they will be automatically deleted after a specified number of days.
Clear media cache - empties the cache. Note that this may adversely affect performance for a while.

Auto save

autosave

HitFilm automatically saves your project at regular intervals.The frequency of auto saves can be set in the Options window.

These auto saves are stored separately to your main project file so that they do not interfere with your master project. The location for auto saves can be changed by altering the Auto save projects path.

Auto saves are only created if the project has been changed since the last manual save. Each auto save will create a new project file.

Once you manually save your project any prior auto saves will be cleared and the auto save frequency will begin again.

If the software does not close normally, such as during a power cut, the next time you start the software you will be given the option to recover the auto-save.

Shortcuts

shortcuts editor

Many of HitFilm's tools and features can be controlled using keyboard shortcuts. As you become familiar with the software you will find that shortcuts substantially speed up your workflow.

The default shortcuts can be edited using the Shortcuts editor in the Options window. Some shortcuts are locked to the default, as indicated by the padlock symbol, but most can be customized to suit your preferred keys.

Customizing shortcuts

To change an assigned shortcut key, click in the shortcut column for the command and then press the desired key combination.

You can use the search box at the top of the window to quickly find a specific shortcut.

Activation

The activation section of the Options window displays details about your software's activation status.

This is where you can find your hardware ID, which you may need if you contact HitFilm technical support.

You can also choose to activate the software from here using your serial code.

RECAP The Options window gives you control over HitFilm's default behaviour.