Star Trek Test Shot

Hey, everyone!

My name is Otis Frampton. I'm a comic book writer/artist and animator. I'm also one of the two artists on the YouTube Series "How It Should Have Ended."

You can see some of my work here: https://otisframpton.com/

If you've never seen "How It Should Have Ended," please check us out on YouTube (we just released the :Kong: Skull Island" HISHE today, which I did all of the artwork for): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHCph-_jLba_9atyCZJPLQQ

I just discovered HitFilm on Saturday after looking around for an alternative to After Effects. Great app and even greater community. Glad to have found it all!

I'm thinking of using HitFilm for an animated short I'm working on and also for some live action short films in the coming year that will be VFX heavy, so I've been giving the app a test drive over the last few days. This morning I started playing around with effects and decided to see if I could create a cool looking Star Trek shot with the Enterprise encountering a vortex in space.

Check it out!

https://youtu.be/_4Lf2fl43s0

I created the shot in HitFilm using two still images I found on the web (the space background and the Enterprise) and the built-in effects for the vortex.

I exported that and brought it into Final Cut Pro X for some color correction, an added camera shake and the letterbox. I probably could have done all of that in HitFilm or downloaded Ignite, but I'm very familar with Final Cut for post-work, so I decided to save time and do it that way.

I'm really loving this program. Even more than After Effects, which isn't very intuitive and can be overwhelming.

Can't wait to create and show more!

-Otis

Comments

• Stargazer54Stargazer54 Moderator

@otisframpton ; Cool!  Makes you wonder what's going to come out of that wormhole and challenge a Constitution class starship.

Glad you found HF.  Look forward to more.

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

Otis,

Welcome to Hitfilm.!