Choppy and laggy in 4K

edited November 2016 in Pro Support

Hey all, I know there has been a lot of discussion about this before, but since I am totally new to editing and I could not understand anything from the suggestions - I could really use a close guidance here.
Basically - Hitfilm was all good until i started shooting videos in 4K, and it became choppy and laggy while editing the footage. The proxy thing does not work either, I thought I could get over it but obviously I got a headache real quick.
my pc specifications SHOULD handle the 4k.

The format that my camera is using is mp4, XAVCS 4K that's all I know to say.. any help?

Comments

• edited November 2016

Really only a complete top of the line PC is capable of doing 4k and even then maybe not real time all the time.

Things you can do are to transcode to a lower overhead codec to make decode easier. XAVC-S is not typically encoded as low overhead. AVC can be lower overhead but it takes special settings. Most commonly people transcode to DNxHD or Prores as a lower overhead codec compared to most AVC camera encodes. For 4k that means DNxHR and not DNxHD.  Either way it needs to be in Quicktime format. Same for Prores.

I have some 700Mbps Prores 4k 24p files from a BMPCC camera and they are harsh to work with. They take up half my CPU and that means when you have more than one file like in compositing and transitions things can possibly get touch and go. My CPU is a 4Ghz 4-core with hyperthread.

I have some GH4 4k files that can decode reasonable well on my machine and more so in a lower overhead AVC.

For any grading effects and such you will want a pretty stout GPU. My Nvidia GTX 980 does not break a sweat doing such on 4k. The bottleneck is the media decode.

There was once a thread where I posted some sime test numbers to this effect. Maybe I can find it and insert a link here after typing this post.