audio lag for a complete novice

I am exhausted and heartbroken.  I am NOT a computer person.  Just trying to make a Youtube on my computer today and trying to edit out all the bad parts..."UM, UHHHHH, YOU KNOW".  Couldn't figure  out making editing cuts on YouTube Editor so I downloaded this HitFilm Express.  My audio and video don't match up.  I have listened to and watched hours of "help" and am at a loss.  My video is just me talking.  It was recorded on my laptop and then uploaded to HitFilm Express.  Is there any hope or should I hang the towel up? 

Comments

• Recorded via the laptop's web camera? It's probably "Variable Frame Rate" footage. Editors, including Hitfilm, need "Constant Frame Rate" footage. So, you'll have to convert your VFR footage to a CFR format 

And those are the tutorials in this thread: http://hitfilm.com/forum/discussion/40639/how-to-work-with-edit-video-game-footage-in-hitfilm#latest

If your footage is shot on a phone, a tablet, a webcam, or via screencapture, then you'll need to follow transcoding procedures like those shown in those tutorials. 

• You might have variable bitrate footage- which HF does't take well. If you're on a mac, open up the file in quicktime, and then do command i. (It should say it somewhere I think). If you're on a PC, I'm not entirely sure, but there might be a "media Info" app or maybe you can download it, but it should tell you how to find out if your footage is VBR.  (http://help.encoding.com/knowledge-base/article/understanding-bitrates-in-video-files/) Then, something like handbrake to transcode the files to a constant bitrate would be good. If you have constant bitrate, then it could be something else that I wouldn't know about.

But.. anyway

Hope This Helps,

Behind_The_Lens

• Ya'll are wonderful!  I am checking these things out!  Thanks so much!