Tell me what you think (be straightforward please)

edited June 2016 in Filmmaking

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TLuE303aUMs

hey guys just did a quick edit for my freind keep in mind im new to this but i am intrested in your honest opinion.

edited with sony vegas pro 13

Comments

• Think it looks like great fun and you captured some nice footage.

Now just pick up Hitfilm and edit it in that and mix it up a little use some of the effects it offers as the car skiding is cool but gets old quick

• edited June 2016

NIcely done, but could benefit from some more camera positions IMO.

Xiaomi Yi and similar GoPro clones are so cheap you should have 5 or 6 of them all over the car and the track. Definitely needs a 'wheel eye view' over the rear wheel arch looking down the side of the car, at the bottom of the driver's (or passenger's) door looking forwards, or backwards, plus some 'looking back' shots from the car being followed (at an angle because the car will be sideways most of the time) and a 'bonnet shot looking back at the driver'. Also some ground level trackside shots to catch the cars sliding past.

They don't all have to be done at the same time, it looks like you moved one camera around on different rides, as it wasn't visible in other shots looking back at where it had previously been, so you might get away with 3 or 4, but get some BIG stable suction cups if sticking them to the outside of the cars. Those can be a bit expensive - also tie a lanyard to it in through a window in case it does come unstuck. :)

Rallying programs in TV tend to keep the cameras inside the cars to protect them, but if you watch something like Top Gear; they'll put the camera outside all the time, even if only for a short period when it's safe(ish) to do so and it won't get ripped off.

• edited June 2016

Everything that Palacono said