Hit Film Pro 4 or After Effects for Hobbiest ?

Ok, I'm finding my way around Hit Film Pro slowly and gradually. I'm always amazed at what's possible and what I'm able to construct visually in my free time.

My question is, would I gain anything by adding Adobe After Effects to my software library, or to put it another way, will Hit Film do everything that After Effects can do and vice versa.

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator
    edited March 2016

In short, no, AE has functions Hitfilm lacks. Hitfilm has functions AE lacks--some of which can be added with plug-ins that cost more than Hitfilm. 

Now... AE is a subscription model, and if you stop paying your subscription AE stops working--meaning you lose access to your own work. Hitfilm is a purchase. You can choose to upgrade or not, but, either way the software will remain yours, and you won't be locked out of your projects for not paying FxHome next year. 

If you had a serious goal of being a VFX artist, I would say get AE--that's a potential investment. As a hobbyist I would say stick with Hitfilm. 

• Okey Doke, that's a bit clearer for me, thanks for the speedy and informative reply.

I'm at the stage of basic edits to home movies with some low level FX on top and Hit Film has opened my eyes to what could be possible.

I'm aware that AE would represent a significant investment and I guess I'm trying to figure out how much extra possibilities I could expect in return for that investment, if indeed any at all.

I'll research a little deeper as time allows,

Thanks again for input.

• I have modest editing needs.  When I demoed Premiere, I found it was vastly, vastly smoother, faster, and even slightly more intuitive than HF.  The speed at least was definitely appreciable.