Help! Trouble with .MOV files | Hitfilm 3 Express

edited November 2016 in Express Support

Hi guys

So I am very new to the whole editing thing so bear with me. I just downloaded hitfilm 3 express and I keep having problems with all my files in .mov format. At first it said it wasn't supported when I tried to import it. I managed to fix it by updating quicktime and it was able to import just fine. However, when I imported a video clip I took with my Nikon 5100 I previewed the clip it was playing as if it were in slow motion. The footage was slow and laggy and so was the audio. Even when I placed the clip in the timeline it played back all choppy and laggy. I decided to export just one .mov clip to see if it would turn out slow and laggy like the preview but it actually turned out fine with no lag. But now comes the issue with editing because I wont be able to preview or playback my clips with out it lagging or looking choppy. This only happens with .mov files. All the .mp4 files seem to work perfectly such as the ones used for tutorials like for portal combat. I'm not sure if it's just because of the .mov formated files or maybe my laptop or hitfilm its self. I really want to avoid having to convert ALL my footage to .mp4. Is there anyway I can fix this problem?

Thanks, Jennelle

Comments

• In this specific case, you can convert your footage to .mp4 by simply changing the .mov file extension to .mp4 in the file names. That being said, You should still convert your footage properly.