Timeline viewer lags when stacking mutliple clips on top of each with seperate tracks

The PC specs are as follows:

CPU:Intel I7-4770 3.40GHz
GPU GTX 1060
RAM: 32 GB

OK, so i have 2 video tracks, and 2 clips. The 2 clips have been stacked on top of each other and are sitting on 2 different video tracks (one clip per track). So when i press the play button the video is the viewer window will lag so badly that there's no way for me to see what is going on. The viewer will only stop lagging until the timeline has gone past the part of the video where the 2 clips overlap.

This issue occurs 100% of the time and it doesn't seem to matter how it is reproduced, it will always lag. Sadly there no error messages or crashes, it happens repeatedly, and its not exactly something i expect to happen.
By the way I am new to Hitfilm so I apologize if this question has been asked on the forums before, but i haven't found any threads that have described the same issue Ive had.

if it helps that little bit more the footage I'm using is something Ive recorded from a game. I followed one of the Hitfilm tutorials to convert the footage to use CFR which improved how much i can see in the timeline viewer but not enough not solve the problem.

Here's how you could do it for yourself step by step

1: Start a new project
2: Import your videos
3: Insert a video track
4 Drag your video into the timeline and place it on the top video track
5 Grab the same video or another, drag it into the timeline and place it under the first video you just put in but in the bottom video track.
6 Play the video and watch it lag

Comments

• Lagging is a common and normal forum complaint. You can always give the editor more work than it can do in real time on a given machine.

Your media files are probably high overhead AVC. AVC has the highest decode overhead of any codec Hitfilm supports. This is just making the editor do more work. Maybe too much work.