Compositing or Editing?

Hi. I'm new to Hitfilm Express, and video editing in general. I recently learned about compositing in a video. I have a live video I want to add a cartoon filter to, for a more animated look. Do I do that in editing or compositing mode?

Comments

• Hi, and welcome to the fun world of Hitilm and VideoEditing/VFX. To get straight to your question, you can simply add an effect to your video, just drop it right on the timeline. But note this will be for all of the video. You can convert your video (or media) to a composite and add a grade layer, and apply the effect you want to the grade.

NOTE: however editing vs Grading offer different things. In its basic form, editing simply allows layers of video/images or sound to be added to the timeline, or multiple layers, but only one layer is shown at a time. Compositing is a bit like having a stack of glass and adding different effects, footage, blending to each to make one final image. Of course it gets more complicated with 3d layers.

There are some great introduction videos by HITFILM on their youtube channel, which explain the basics, then there is advanced tutorials from the community when you are ready to soak up more info.

Good luck.

• If that's all you are doing, then you can do it in either.

incidentally, you could also add that filter in many other supported editing programs, such as Vegas Movie Studio, using the free Ignite Plugins.

• Thank you! I'll give the grade layer a try. Newbie question, do I add the video I'm editing to the composite shot first or do I add the grade layer first and then the video?