Startup error message on Hitfilm 4 Express 2017

Greetings,

After not using Hitfilm 4 Express 2017 for a month, I opened up the application and received this error message:

The audio mixing and playback engine could not be initialized. database disk image is malformed.

I tried re-downloading Hitfilm 4 Express 2017, but it still gave me this error message.

I am a newbie, and there is probably a simple solution to this, but if there is, I can't find it.

Anybody have this issue?

-Joto

Comments

• EmmaEmma Staff
    edited January 10

Hi @Jotoqi, it sounds like some data that HitFilm has cached to improve performance may have been corrupted somehow. The folder containing this data will need to be deleted manually (uninstalling HitFilm will not remove it).

Please note that there is not a version of Express called 'HitFilm 4 Express 2017', as this affects the instructions I've provided below. It sounds like you're using either 'HitFilm 4 Express' or 'HitFilm Express 2017'.

Replace 'Username' in the paths below with your own Windows/Mac username.

• Make sure HitFilm is closed
    • For Windows: Navigate to C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\FXHOME\HitFilm Express 2017
    • For Mac: Navigate to /Users/Username/Library/Caches/FXHOME/HitFilm Express 2017
    • Delete the 'Media' folder
    • Start HitFilm

If you continue to experience a problem, or you've changed the location of the media database or media cache using the Options dialog in HitFilm, please contact support at hitfilm.com/ask

• edited January 10

@Emma you can understand his confusion when the program calls itself Hitfilm Express at the top left of the screen.

Imagine the complications when the next version comes out later this year, when it'll be called... Hitfilm Express, and you'll need to tell people where to look for the version number to know which year's release they're talking about. :)