How to transcode AVCHD files to Cineform?

Hey all,

I've been messing around with HF off and on for about 3 years now. I have used Express for quite some time, but am now thinking about making the jump to HF Pro for all my editing and compositing. I run a corporate video production company and I think that HF fills all my needs quite nicely. Plus, the fact that I will no longer have to make a hefty monthly payment to you-know-who for my software is rather appealing.

Anyway, I have noticed that HF works very nicely with Cineform files. In fact, I seem to get better performance using Cineform than using HF proxies. The problem I am having is I cannot find software that will transcode my MTS/MP4 files from my Panasonic G7 into .mov files with the Cineform codec. The catch is that I need to work in full 4K if possible. So I need something that will transcode to 4K Cineform files. I have been using Adobe Media Encoder for testing, but obviously, if all goes well and I make the commitment to HF, I will be losing my Adobe subscription.

So, I would love to hear suggestions for a transcoder that outputs 4K Cineform files. I tried using GoPro Quik, but it won't recognize the files from my camera. What do you all use?

Thanks in advance.
Mark.

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

If the files load into Hitfilm (but just perform slowly) you can use Hitfilm as the transcoder in Express 2017.

First go into the Export Queue and set up a Cineform export correctly. I recommend duplicating the existing (locked) preset and changing Quality to Medium. Filmscan 1 is overkill. 

Double click your Cineform preset to make it the Default export. 

Drag all your media files to the Editor Timeline. 

Use the select tool to draw a box around all clips (so they highlight). 

Right click any clip and select Export. 

All clips move to the Editor Timeline and have your Cineform preset as output format.

Render.