3D models overlapping

Hi,

I'm a hitfilm 2017 pro user.

I'm experimenting the particle simulator with custom textures, using a stormtrooper 3D model to build an army.

I have an issue in the final rendered output where some troopers in the background appear in front of some foreground troopers, overlapping them. And I can't figure out why it happens.

Please can you assist ? 

You can see the video here: https://youtu.be/jfeHWDjlbi4

You can download the project here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lHAdmQNvoS4fciMqGWMUhKXFrA5kz1m4

Thank you!

Regards,

Stephane

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

I think you might have found a bug? I can fix the sorting order by changing from 3D unrolled to 2D, and moving the floor plane to a lower layer but the the lights become a lot harsher, then.

@Aladdin4D @NormanPCN ?

I looked at the materials, too.

• edited January 5

I was working on a shot very similar except the troopers are walking. As for the model, it has something weird going on with it that seem to cast shadows on itself even though they are not turned on. I found that an environment map took care of that. ??

<-- Video removed --> 

As for overlaying models..I did as Mike suggested but I still see the front middle model has 2 models (overlayed on each other) ....delayed every so slightly. Weird.

(vid will be removed)

• GreyMotion, Where did you get the walking Models. I only have the free one in the tutorial.
    I did notice you have to have the main single model turned off or it gets mixed in with the clones.

• If center of mass is not used everything is fine. As soon as values are altered things mess up. I checked it with a more simple 3d object and got the same issue here.

• If I swith "Intersect layers" on it also looks  good. I think that is the solution.

@Juda, so setting center of mass to 0,0,0 fixes the issue? 

• @Triem23: Yes. But also Setting "intersect layers" fixes it with leaving Center mass like it was.