Severe lag when creating a Proxy

Hi, I'm fairly new to Hitfilm and was looking for ways to reduce the horrendous amounts of lag created when I am editing video. I looked up a few tutorials and decided that creating a proxy would be the best way to reduce that lag. But whenever I start the proxy, the proxy seems to freeze and makes almost no progress no matter how long I wait. Could somebody help me diagnose the problem?

PC Specs:

Ryzen 3 1200 clocked at 3.8GHz

ASUS Prime X370 Pro

12GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz

x1 WD Black 7200 rpm HDD

x1 Toshiba 7200 rpm HDD

MSI Gaming X RX 580 4gb

Rosewill 850w semi-modular PSU

Video Properties

Originally captured through AMD Radeon Relive

Video Format: H.264 MP4

Resolution: 1920 x 1080

FPS: 59.94 FPS

Aspect Ratio: 1.0 Square Pixels

Sample Rate: 48000 Hz

Anti aliasing Mode; 4x MSAA

Shadow Map Size; 2048 pixels

Comments

• Problem with proxies is they are lossless files.

Now. Uncompressed 1920x1080 video is about 356 MEGABYTES per second. Lossy compression like mp4 can reduce file sizes by well over 150:1 to get a 60fps file to about 2 megaBYTES/sec. The computer expanding this compressed file to uncompressed data is why mp4 is slow to edit.

Lossless compression tends to be about 2 or 3:1 compression. You end up with a larger file that's easier for the CPU to decompress. However you're still looking at a 100-150 megaBYTES/sec of data flow. Multiply by 8 to get megaBITS/sec (what drive speed is measured in) and you're looking at somewhere over a gigabit/sec of data. This is probably too much for your hard drives. 4k or 1080/60p proxies really need an SSD to work smoothly. 

• Ok, is there any other way to prevent stuttering when I'm editing?