Looping a clip on one layer

I have a short clip (about 1 second) and want to loop it and have it like 1 minute long, so i can keyframe it. My problem is, that it creates another layer if i duplicate it and i can´t merge it together. (Screenshot: https://prnt.sc/htrtwt). With the current method i have a working loop but am not able to edit/keyframe it as a whole. I want one long clip and not many small and seperated ones.

Copy and paste didn´t work, created another layer aswell. So is stretching because it changes the speed of the clip.

Keep in mind, that the clip is already edited (for example the background is masked out).

I am new to hitfilm aswell as editing/cutting in general. I hope you can help me with my problem.

Kind regards

Comments

• When you duplicate or paste there is always another layer. You do not Need to merge them but when duplicating you have to move the start Point to the end Point of the other layer.

I just made what you wanted to achieve and I took These steps:

- created a comp for the clip, called it 1sec, adde the Clip and did some effects

- created a comp for the target Clip, called it 60sec and inserted the 1sec comp

- then I did CTRL+C = COPY (not duplicate)

- then 59 times I pressed PAGE-DOWN which will move the playhead to the end and CTRL+V to paste the next layer at the playheads position (that's why I didn't use duplicate since then I would have to adjust all 59 starting Points)

That's it. If you Need any Special changes to the source footage you do it in the 1sec comp so it affects all 60 layers. Or do it in a grade layer which is placed at the first Position in the layer stack.

Again: you get a layer for every copy inside the comp. It is not like editing the timeline where Clips are placed behind each other because the Composites are layer based.