Noob question - correct scale for Zoomed still images

Hi all

Complete noob here - possibly migrating to HitFilm from FCP X, but struggling with something that seems like it should be fairly basic.

My programmes are mainly audio-based, in other words, most of the programme is a single audio wav file (edited in other software). Then I build a "Ken Burns" style slideshow over the audio.

So after placing the audio on a track, I import a load of photo images, which may be completely different resolutions and aspect ratios from my 720p timeline.

I then place the image where I need it over the audio, extend to length, and set the Start and End Scale and Position settings, keyframing these to give me the movement I need.

However in HitFilm, what I see in the two different timelines (Editor where I sync and adjust the clip length, and Compositor where I do the keyframing) is not the same... I always seem to end up either zoomed in to the wrong amount when I play back in the Editor. I've tried using the Scale To Height/Width etc on the image before making it a composite clip, but still can't seem to predict what it'll look like.

Can someone explain simply for me the workflow, so that what I see in the Composite Timeline is the same as what I will then see back in the Editor timeline and when it's rendered?

Also, is there a way to hear the audio from the Editor timeline whilst working on the composite clip? It's the best way to make sure my keyframes are in the right place.... switching backwards and forwards to note timecodes is possible, but messy.

Many thanks.

Andy

Comments

• The trick to seeing the same thing in the editor that you see in a composite shot is in how you make your comp that contains the image you're animating.  In short, your image comps should match your editor timeline dimensions, not your image dimensions.