Help! Composite Shot bug?

Okay so I'm doing an analysis video and I'm kind of new to Hitfilm so I might be missing something really obvious. But I've Sliced the video to different bits in order to fit my audio and it all looks awesome, but now I want to edit things into specific parts that I've sliced. From what I understand, if I want to place an image or text in the slice, I have to make it a composite shot. Which I have done. But for some reason, whenever I select a slice (let's say it's at 1:22 into the video to 1:30 into the video) and make it a composite shot, it turns into a different slice of the video? (like 3:41-4:00) No matter what slice of the video I turn into a composite shot, it always turns into a different part of the video.

My exact actions are to slice a big chunk of the video into a smaller chunk. Right click it > Make Composite Shot > Take Composite Shot properties from: Selected Clip > Effects and Transform Properties: Leave here > OK 

But then it turns into another clip? Please help as I'm so close to making my first video. I'm really proud of my work and I'd really hate for this to ruin my vision and scheduled time.

Comments

• What OS are you on, and which version of HitFilm are you using?  Also, what is the file type and encoding method of your footage?

FWIW, if all you want to do is drop a title on top of a piece of footage in the editor, you don't have to make the footage itself into a composite shot.  You can make an empty composite shot, create your text in there, then drop that comp onto a layer above your footage.