Hitfilm keeps on freezing

edited September 26 in Express Support

I am very new to hitfilm Express and i wanted to make a video with it. so i thought well all i have to do is film the video import the video and well edit it with the knowledge i gained form youtube. but its not that simple i filmed imported then set my in and out on my clip then put draged it down to the video line thing. it went there it paused loaded up the images on the line then it freezed. and starts to give me the not responding error when i try to click on buttons. and yes some times it does come back give me control but if i even dare to click on anything it goes into non responding mode.

i dont have the best computer for editing. yes its a very good gaming pc but not a good editing one. it only has about 8gb's of ram and its GPU is meant for gaming and does not have much ram.

here are its specs.

CPU:    Intel Core i7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz

RAM:     8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR4 @ 1063MHz (yes i know not alot)

MB:     Alienware Alienware 17 R3 (it is a alienware laptop)

GPU:    3071MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M ( i use this one)

and Intel HD Graphics 530

Storage:  119GB SAMSUNG SSD CM871 M.2 2280 128GB

and   931GB Hitachi HGST

also the file i am using is 

29.2 GB and is 00:47:10 in length and is 1920 by 1080 that is AVI

it is a very big file. but i have done this before with other editors and they all worked fine. should i recored in MP4? 

but that is my problem really hope i can get some help this program is really my only option. 

thank you in advance.

Comments

• CNKCNK
    edited September 27

Intel Core i7 6700HQ
    GTX 970M

"Not a good editing one"

Uhm..

Anyways, as always on here, please post your Mediainfo report of the clip that you're trying to use in HitFilm.

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

First, check this out. See if this helps. 

https://hitfilm.com/faqs/view/78