Experienced help on sound?

edited August 2011 in Filmmaking
I'm just getting into film making, and obviously sound on my T2i will not suffice to my needs. I am on a low budget. My friend who works with an indie group suggested getting a clip on mic, and using that for now, and then later add another one. I was looking at a shotgun mic. What method do you suggest? and what equipment should I look at new/used for under $100? I also need money for a rig. Please excuse any dumb comments ignorance I might have let slip..

Comments

• O'k it very well depends on what your doing. You said your getting a mic for film making purposes, well in that case I personally would not want a clip on mic. Clip on mic's usually have a kind of muffled sound when you walk about with them. I think a shotgun mic is the best bet for what you wanna do. The Audio-Technica ATR55 is a good mic for under $100. I believe it can be used as an on camera mic aswell as a boom mic.
    Thats only my opinion however, Good luck :)
  • If you need a rig, check out amazon, there are some great prices for wind sheilds, mics, and rigs, I will see what I can find for under £100 so it should be around $100
  • http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tiger-Stands-Microphone-Stand-Boom/dp/B001ANK7BS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1313934627&sr=8-1
    Here is a cheap stand for mic. But microphones can range a lot from sound quality and prices, I'd advice looking up sound tests on YouTube for microphones you are looking to buy. To help you out ;)
  • edited August 2011
    http://www.themicstore.co.uk/camcorder-shotgun-mics.html#.TlEOfKN5mSM
    Here is a microphone store, also, for the rig, you'll need to by a mic holder (but it recommends it on the page, so you won't have to search for one) :)