Results of "Cast Shadows" are Jagged and Blocky

I'm having a terrible time trying to get " cast shadows" working properly in a particular scene.  The scene is a city scape with modeled buildings and roads.  When I enable "cast shadows" on a directional light the created shadows look terrible!  Straight edges of 3d models create shadows that are jagged in places, blocky and low res in others.  I've increased the shadow map size to 4096, and I've tried moving the light closer and further away.  Even if it did work when closer to the objects that are set to cast shadows, that would not do any good as I need the light on the whole scene so it has to be a fair bit away.  Shadows seem slightly better when using a point light but the price of the additional processing overhead is not worth it because the result is still unacceptable.

I'm using Hitfilm pro 2017 but I've been demoing Hitfilm for 2018 and I'm having the same problem there.

Hopefully I'm doing something wrong and someone has a tip to get my shadows looking... well, like shadows.

Comments

• I struggled, struggle with this all the time. Some of its model geometry. Light positioning is a trick to get those edges to go away...far away isn't so good, close is under lite. Trust me I feel your pain.

I have used close medium power lights casting shadows and far away low power directionals lights w/o shadow casting to fill. Works good at times depending on the edge.

The rest is usually setting which you seem to understand. Check this from a few months back...

https://hitfilm.com/forum/discussion/comment/96134/#Comment_96134

What building models are you using?

• edited November 27

@GrayMotion  Thanks for the reply.   I'll give your suggestions a shot.

The models I'm using are the "K 14 Building Set"

Free from here - https://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/free-3ds-mode-building-ready-city/690329

And the other model is "small shops"