Advice on Continued HitFilm Upgrades

I love HitFilm and I have been using it to edit, animate, composite, etc for several years now. I love how intuitive the software is for me, the support I've encountered, and just the overall vision that FXHome has for the software. I recently acquired access to Adobe's Creative Cloud and have been dabbling in in After Effects. There's been a significant learning curve as far as After Effects' interface and I've found myself drifting back towards HitFilm.

This post is not intended to be a comparative discussion about Adobe versus FXHome. Rather, I'm seeking advice from other filmmakers and animators. HitFilm studio was released and I'm very conflicted on whether I should try to transition to primarily using After Effects and Premiere or if I should purchase the updgrade for HitFilm and use all of the softwares in conjunction.

I would like to pursue film as a career and I'm not sure how applicable HitFilm-exclusive skills will be in a studio-type workplace but I would love to continue my relationship with HitFilm. I would really appreciate any advice or wisdom that anyone has to offer in this situation. If there's any questions I could answer to help those reading to better understand my concerns and uses, please ask. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Basic diff is AE is subscription based - you quit paying and your software quits working.

HF is pay for what you want and you keep the software.  If you don't want the next upgrade, then no problem.  It keeps running as the version you have and you edit and motion graphics along as long as you want. 

If a new feature release comes along you like, then pay for the upgrade then.  Otherwise, keep your money in your pocket and use HF as is.  The software keeps  running.

• CNKCNK
    edited November 24

If it makes you feel better, I use: 

Premiere, After Effects, Audition, , Photoshop, DaVinci Resolve, Reaper HitFilm Express

Different tools for different purposes.