Software freezes when I use the horizontal scrollbar on the editor timelime

Hi all!

I've been using Hit Film 4 Express for two months or so... I love the software. Easy to use and it's free.

But there's something that is driving me crazy. It happens repeatedly on every project I work. I usually work with two tracks, one for the video and one for the audio. My basic workflow is slicing both tracks to make the audio and video tell a meaningful story. So I always do a lot of slicing on a single project. I don't use many effects, only basic video transitions. 

Thus, I need to keep moving back and forth, and I use the horizontal scrollbar a lot. Ok, but once or twice when I am editing a project, when I try to move the horizontal scrollbar to the left, the software freezes. As I use a Mac computer, I always see that annoying spinning beachball of death. So, to avoid losing everything, I need to hit save after each slice command. That's tedious!

I've tried to look for a way to reproduce the problem, but it doesn't happen all the time. So, I don't know what is causing it, or what I am doing to generate the behavior.

Below you'll have some info about my system and hardware.

Model Name: Mac mini (Late 2012)

Processor Name: Intel Core i5

Processor Speed: 2,5 GHz

Number of Processors: 1

Total Number of Cores: 2

Memory: 4 GB

Chipset Model: Intel HD Graphics 4000

Type: GPU

VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB

I'm using SSD (59 GB available of 127 GB) on a Mac with macOS Sierra.

Thank you, guys!

Comments

• First, I strongly suggest upgrading to HitFilm Express 2017, which is the most recent Express version.  It has many improvements over 4.

Second, just a pointer that your system is on the low-end of the Mac compatibility range when it comes to RAM.  If you can afford to double your RAM to 8GB (which, admittedly, is no easy task for a Mac Mini, but I believe it's doable), then definitely do it.  That will smooth out some usability bumps, and not just in HitFilm.