Daylight replacement

So I watched the appropriate tutorial but I end up getting too much blue or red or grey in my effect or too much daylight still. Can anyone help me find some good looking settings on these stills to find a good effect?

I am a noob at photoshop and alike effects :/

I want to get a LATE dusk setting with MAYBE a lantern effect (orange) over it but I just need to know how to set them properly as playing around with them really doesn't give the right feel

MOD EDIT: Fixed image links so they would work with the forum

Comments

• @SegendaryClips I deleted your embed post to tidy things up once I got your images to display. For future reference the forum needs a direct link to an image before it'll display correctly. With Imgur images, right click on an image and select Open in new tab. The address for the new tab is a direct link that'll work.

• @SegendaryClips ; So, once I could download your pictures after Aladdin4d so kindly fixed the links, I had a play with the first one.  I am by no means an adept at Hitfilm, but I gave it a whirl.  I'll try the 2nd tomorrow.  Here is a screen cap of my layout showing a before and after as well as my Hitfilm .hfp file but I am running 2017 Pro and I'm not sure which you have.  Hope this works for you, or at least shows you what settings I tweaked to get to this point.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B01ci7dc2fYVTjJhVTJ0SmNGNjg?usp=sharing

• edited September 29

@SegendayClips ; Here is a link to the 2nd photo attempt.  I think it is the easier of the two.  By applying a duplicate layer and a mask of the figure in the doorway you can darken the stairwell and surround as much as needed and preserve the orange glow in the doorway.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B01ci7dc2fYVbEl6MkxxelZqdjg?usp=sharing