Green screen example

Hi all,

I was following an old tutorial by Andrew Kramer on his Serious FX DVD from years ago. Though Andrew used AE, I used HF Express 2017. I show the individual elements and then the final composite. Would love to get some critiques.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boF2ql-JRDg&feature=youtu.be

Thanks

Comments

• Not bad for a first attempt!  I've got no greenscreen experience, but a couple things do stand out with this:

• The new background feels like it's tinted green, especially at and below the window.  Not sure if that's a problem with the key, or if something went amiss in final color correction.
    • The guy also feels like he's got a greenish tinge to him.  In a way it kinda matches the tint on the background, but frankly, neither tint looks appealing.
    • I see that you trimmed off the dangling bits of leather (?) on the guy's sleeve in the keyed version.  Was that due to a keying problem, or was it a separate artistic choice?
    • The shadow you added on the wall is an interesting touch, but based on the look of the guy vs the background, it doesn't feel to me like it should be there.  He feels too close to camera to cast that kind of shadow.  Just thinking about the size of his head compared to the average brick, the fact that his shadow is the same size as him -- making him feel very close to the wall -- means that he's either abnormally large, or the bricks are abnormally small.
  • edited June 26

Agree with @jsbarrett that the green tint shouldn't be there but not sure how that would have happened.

The green-screen looks pretty even but you might just need some more light on it to make the actor 'pop' a bit more and avoid the green reflection. Maybe they're too close to the screen?

<edit> having said all that I like the scene itself. :-)

• Thank you both for the advice. I think I'm going to redo this from scratch and keep your comments in mind to make it better. 

Thanks again!