Short film about an AI

A short film about an AI and where that could lead... 

https://youtu.be/VCgClw0bqD0

A few VFX shots but not so much, mostly grading.

/DNA

Comments

• Very nice!  I'm no expert on grading, but my gut tells me you did a great job.  The FX shots were well-integrated, though I did notice some very minor screen overlay issues in some of the early shots.  From a filmmaking standpoint, the only thing that bugged me was the ending.  It felt rather abrupt compared to the pace set by the rest of the film. Overall, though, I definitely enjoyed it.

• edited June 9

I liked it a lot, but I concur with the points above. Looked lovely, but I wasn't even sure there was an ending on the first watch.

I then went back and realised he'd spoken a single (short) word that made it an ending: the name of the AI as he answered the phone.  So, then I was: What? how did that happen, and why? What's the AI got to say that 'she' didn't just say a few minutes before? "Guess what? I've discovered Skype. How are you?"

Edit
    : just watched again and I'd missed the small "Two weeks Later" text on the screen. So...stuff happened in the interim.

I felt it might have benefited from some some more obvious clues (there was a single, subtle hint) that the AI was as 'attached' to him as he was to 'it/her'. But that seemed a bit "Stockholm Syndrome" to me.  I was sort of expecting it to go along the "cautionary tale" lines of: once it/she could communicate with other people, she/it would get over him, zip off over the internet to explore the world and he'd be left with neither the AI or his original human girlfriend.

• Thanks for the comments! I must say that I agree with the fact that the ending is a bit rushed but the project was on a schedule and I was running out of time so sadly the ending suffered from that. This is also one of my first more complex projects and I may have underestimated the amount of time and effort the project would take.