Problem with keyframing of scale and position.

Greetings HF users,

I am trying (without success so far) to key frame the scale and position of a video my daughter took at Disney. The idea is to go in close (scale) at the beginning and center the person (position). Then as they walk a few steps, gradually pull back out (scale) and keep them centered (position) at the same time. I was going to try this in just the editor, but got nowhere. Tried in a comp layer but even though I can see the key frames, it did not do anything. I am sure I have missed something as I am pretty new at this, but I watched a lot of tutorials and thought I had some insight. But, noooooooooooooooo, it won't work. I am seeking wisdom from the great gurus here in the forum. I am using HF 2017 full version.

Thanks very much.

Comments

• @DataDesign  I just tried this in 2017 and here's what I did (There may be better ways though)  I created a comp shot (Keyframing isn't possible in Editor, I think) imported a video clip.  Set it to 3D then used the control to move the position on Z so that brings the clip forward then I used the arrows to center the image where I wanted.  I then clicked on the position keyframe circle to turn it blue with the position in the timeline at 0  then I moved the slider thing forward to the selected time to end the move then moved the Z position back as far as I wanted it to go and adjusted the arrow to keep the subject centered.

I am not one of the gurus here and I am practically positive there are multiple ways to do what you want, so they will undoubtedly be able to tell you a better way.

• You need to make a comp of the clip first, then go to transform and set the position and scale remembering to click on the circle to set a keyframe. Move the cursor to where you want the change to finish, re-position with scale and position and a keyframe will be automaticaly placed. Hope that helps, abit garbled I'm afraid.