Help needed for my first documentary

Hi, I am new to this site and not a wizard like you guys. I am planning for my first documentary on the subject Migration of American Bisons. Since this is my first project I need help from experienced members. I need some technical advice regarding the cam to use and other audio devices.
      I am planning to complete this project with 4 member team. It will be a great help for me if I get suggestions from wildlife photographers.

Thank you very much.

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

What's your budget? Are you planning on buying or renting gear? Can we assume you are shooting bison? What's your intended distribution (internet, Blu-ray, film festivals)? Don't forget to look at sites like shutterstock, pond5 or videoblocks. There may be useful stock footage. 

In general, for documentary work, I recommend configuring for speed. This would push more into the camcorder range than a cinema camera, but, with animals it's probably better to turn on and shoot in five seconds rather than attaching lenses, monitors and mics to a rig. The Panasonic DVX 200 is a sexy camera that has a 30x zoom and records 4k at up to 200 mbps, along with a micro 4/3 sensor capable of fairly shallow DoF. 

That said, renting something like a Canon C300 gives the option of attaching very long lenses... An Ursa Mini is arguably the best overall camera under $10k, but storage is expensive. Sony's Fs7 would round out my camera recommendations. 

• In the budget range, another option could be the Sony RX10III, since it has a 600mm equivalent zoom with a great image stabilizer, high speed shooting (up to 1000fps), and 100MBps encoding. 4K capable, too, but even if it's a bridge this camera offers a lot more than a basic DSLR for a limited price, and it's compact enough to shoot anonymously :)