Discrepancy in Render Time. Half What It Reports.

I'm getting a consistent discrepancy between what Hitfilm (HFP2017) reports as the expected amount of time to render-export and the actual time it takes that it reports once finished...which agrees with my logging. It's taking almost exactly one half the time. Is this something anyone else is experiencing? Is it something to worry about? I don't see any issues with the final product, but, then, since I'm new at this, I may not have enough smarts to know what I'm missing.

Comments

• Without seeing your project it can be hard to tell. Render estimates are based on time taken to render more current frames, so, if you have a 1:30 project, and the first 60 seconds has heavy compositing, and the last 30 seconds is a static image, it's going to give an estimate based on the composite, then, suddenly hit the static frame and blaze through the rest.

Putting it another way, never complain when your render time is UNDER estimate. ;-) 

• @Triem23 : Got it. Don't look a gift pig in the snoot. 

• Right. :-) Also, looking at your book trailers, that's exactly what's happening, since you're front loading all your effects, and the back end is just the book cover. So Hitfilm hits that part of the edit and suddenly exclaims, "Wait, this bit's EASY!"  

• edited December 2016

Yeah, but, right now, I'm doing something to go with my SF book trailer, and it's laden with a cap 'L'., and it's still taking almost exactly to the second half the time.  Okay. Case in point: Rendered out the core talon tap in both mp4 and in avi.  Reported estimated render time was 25 minutes and 23 seconds for each of them. Actual render time was 12 minutes and 16 seconds.

• Odd, but still a gift pig. :-)

• edited December 2016