How would I go about creating a benchmark project for HitFilm 4 Express?

Hello,

I'm not a programmer, and I don't understand programming. However, I really want a HitFilm 4 Express benchmark, so that we can easily  determine what hardware is bottlenecking for specific tasks and so on.

If anyone has any ideas, please share them here. I was thinking about a mouse recording software that would run through a script but no idea how to make it reliable so that nobody can manipulate the results...

Comments

• Hey, I'm actually creating a Benchmark scene for HF4P, may take another week or so, gotta heal up first, due to a silly accident.

• Are you going to use any scripts to verify results are reliable/accurate? Perhaps I'm asking for too much, I don't know how much goes into making something like this.

• No, no scripts or code... just a few high poly 3D models with a few 4k textures.

The only Benchmark scenes that I've tried out, are tested by rendering a single frame. You just take note of your computer specs and how long it took to render the single frame.

There was a HitFilm Benchmark scene posted somewhere in the forums, a long time ago, not sure how it was supposed to work though, as in, do you render a single frame, or do you render an entire animation?

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator

@Spydurhank the previous benchmark scene was the old Harry Potter tutorial (so some grading, some lightning and some particles/forces/deflectors) . One was supposed to render the entire scene. 

The Harry Potter scene and anything with models works for Pro, but not Express (no models or particles in Express). 

The problem, Kevin, is a benchmark scene won't help find bottlenecks as such. They can just help compare relative overall system speeds. There are so-so many potential hardware configurations out there and so many things that can bottleneck a system that a benchmark won't narrow down the options.