Audio Video issues

edited August 2016 in Pro Support

Hello everyone!

I have some audio that I'd like to sync up with some footage. However... I didn't clap or anything(because I didn't realize how hard it was going to be to sync up later:this is my first time recording the 2 separate), and I can't see any noticeable, line-up-able waveforms, partly because they're so small, and partly because I'm using a point and shoot with a less that great mic. Is there some free audio/video syncing program(I can't get pluraleyes or woowave dreamsync)? If not, can I scale up the waveform size in HF4P?

Thanks so much!

Comments

• Stargazer54Stargazer54 Moderator
    edited August 2016

Scaling up the audio waveform would really be nice!!!!! (echo, echo . . . .)

I believe that's been on the wish list for quite a while and is really needed.

In lieu of that, even without a clapper you may be able to find a spot in the footage where somebody drops something and makes a loud noise, clicks during their speech or laughs loudly.   Any discernible sound will work as long as you can see the sound maker both in the picture and hear it on the track.   Once you find that, you'll have a good chance of getting the sync close.

After that you will have to nudge the audio track forward (or backward) frame by frame until you achieve sync.   Yes, its a pain but it is doable.

• Thanks so much!

• @Behind_The_Lens @Stargazer54 Changing the size of the audio track is possible:

Change track height

• edited August 2016

@CedricBonnier I'm not sure I'd have found that if you'd bet me $100 and given me 10 minutes to do so. :)

Why is it where it is and affecting all tracks rather than for each track individually?  For video and audio - in another editor - I regularly minimise the size of tracks I'm done with and only have the still-active ones at a larger size. Wouldn't that allow more choice and also make it easier to find, as every track would have the little arrow? One for the wishlist?