PD Howler Thread

Aladdin4dAladdin4d Moderator
edited February 8 in Everything Else

MODERATOR EDIT (Triem23) The free giveaway listed here has expired. However, through 8/14/16 one can puchase PDHowler 10 for $30 instead of $80 here: PDHowler 10 Discount

For anybody interested in alternative paint and animation software  TheBest3D  is handing out  free copies of PD Howler 9.6  and offering a discount on the current version 10. 

PD Howler is an odd duck that prides itself on not being Photoshop and it has some pretty handy features so it's definitely worth a try when it's free ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZtyqcWjUu4

Their YouTube channel is loaded with hundreds of tutorials too.

https://www.youtube.com/user/pdhowler/videos

Comments

• How hard is it to learn how to create stuff like at 2:20? It looks awesome but I am still learning 3DS Max and don't have time to take on learning a new beast... work and school are killing me along with weekly uploads.

Your thoughts on the learning curve to making realistic looking sweep shots?

• Aladdin4dAladdin4d Moderator

@TriFlixFilms It actually isn't that hard. Here's a good one on terrain

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIeP21SuA9I

And this one covers the basics on animating terrain fly-overs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kn8U7R8w0M

This kind of thing was added with PD Howler 9 and the give away is for the full PD Howler 9.6 so it can do all of it. If you have any interest at all go ahead and snag the free copy and save it until you have the time to tackle it. There's also a new plugin (free) to handle normal maps. It was written for 10 but there are people saying it works in 9.6.

They have an ungodly amount of YouTube tutorials and the two guys behind Project Dogwaffle are very approachable and ready to help if you really got stuck on something, 

• edited July 2016

@Aladdin4d - Dogwaffle- did they do PD Particles too?