Using 120FPS GoPro Footage in a 25FPS Project

Hi there, Hit Film Express Noob here.

I'm trying to use a 120FPS clip from a Go Pro in a 25FPS project, the GoPro clip is placed in a composite, which I can only set the framerate up to 100FPS for the highest. This obviously desyncs my video and audio in the output.

I try to set the Composite's properties to 25FPS, but then I'm left with a blank clip on the timeline.

Any help on how to properly use my GoPro clip in my project? Thanks!

Comments

• Hey there, please give us a Mediainfo report, of the file you're using. We have really good experts in our community. I don't even know half the things they're saying. 

Also, post your full PC specs, as it might help, so you don't have to do it later.

• First, do you want the 120fps file to play at normal speed?

Then just place the media in your project, whatever your project framerate is. Hitfilm will automatically conform the source framerate to the project framerate. From your post is seems like you want a 25fps target project/composite rate.

Typically the only reason to record at such a high framerate is to get quality slow motion. Nobody delivers 120fps playback. Even 60 is often debatable. For slow motion from your 120fps file, right click the media after imported and set the media file framerate to the slow motion factor you want. GoPro 120fps files are actually 119.88 (29.97 * 4). So if you want 4x slowmo set the media framerate to 29.97. 2x = 59.94. You get the idea. For what it's worth at a 25fps target speed you will get a slowmo factor of 119.88/25 = 4.8.

Note that you can import a media file more than once in case you want to get multiple different playback speeds for a given source media file. Normal and slomo for example.

I do have a GoPro Black 3+ so if you have problems I can probably help.

• Hi Norman,