Post about your hobbies!

edited July 2011 in Everything Else
It's true, not all of us are filmmakers by trade. Even those of us who are must certainly take some time away from the viewfinder every now and again to indulge in activities of another sort. Be it designing multi-million dollar shopping centers, sending men to Mars, or simply collecting the used toiletries of Big Brother contestants, we've all got hobbies.
As for myself, these days I am more focused on music than I am film, so filmmaking is more of a hobby, and less of a career option for me than it once was. I was the vocalist in a progressive rock band for about six years. We recorded two albums (one as a two-piece, one as a four-piece), and shortly after recording the second one, we parted ways. From what I can tell, I'm the only member of the band who has continued making music. As a singer, I hadn't really had much input into the actual composition of the songs, but in November of last year, I started working hard on writing my own songs, and teaching myself the fundamentals of music theory. Since then, I've written about 15 songs that are at various stages of being finished, and I've become somewhat competent with a guitar, bass, and keyboard. Amazing.
I set up a Tumblr page where I post the songs that I'm most happy with as I finish them. There are only a handful of songs on there so far, but I hope to put at least a few more up in the coming weeks. Here are a couple of my favorites:
Ballpoint Pencil (This is the first "solo" track I completed, therefore it is kinda sloppy)
Critical Analysis (My attempt at making a sunny, upbeat tune, that ended up kinda sad anyway)
So yeah, share with us your hobbies, and let's all talk about each others hobbies as if we understand them. ;)

Comments