How to get sponsors for film project?

Hey all! I'm planning on doing another web series, and this time I plan on actually having a budget. I'm thinking it would be great to get sponsors for the show, but since I have no experience doing that I'm wondering if anyone here do. I'm talking about getting a major company/brand to support the show in exchange for product placement (or something like that). I know it's possible, but I'm new to all that stuff so I wouldn't know where to start.
I'd be more than willing to have everyone in my series wear Nike clothes, or all computers be PCs if I could get a deal Lol. If I were to do all that, what would you advise me do? Thanks.

Comments

• It doesn't work that way :) You have to get the "eyeballs" first.
  • Yeah, you're not going to get corporate sponsors unless you're already marketable and profitable. If it was possible to do without that, no one would ever have problems getting their films funded.
  • What about smaller local sponsors? Anyone have experience dealing with them?
  • edited February 2012
    Smaller, local, are even tighter with their wallets.
    The rule of thumb in business is for YOU to make money off another business, you have to make money for them, and a BUNCH of it, or they won't even want to bother.
    It's kind of like banks only loan money to profitable businesses, not ones that need a cash injection to stay afloat. Hahaha.
    Hey, there is some hope that you can get a million hit YT video, but you need to get monetized first.
    If you can set yourself up as a "gatekeeper", like "Frugal Filmmaker", where you have plenty of general traffic, YT will beg you to become a Partner.
    There's an old saying: "If you want to make a small fortune in video, start out with a large fortune" :)